Nagaur district is one of the largest districts of Rajasthan. The District Collector is the head of District administration. In the district administration two, Additional District Magistrates (Nagaur & Deedwana) help him in the discharge of administrative duties.

For effective administration, the district is divided into following 2 criteria.


A. On the basis of Revenue collection.

            Nagaur district has twelve sub-divisions. Sub Divisional Officers (SDOs) work at the sub-division to provide administrative support at the local level. There are 13 tehsil headquarters in this district. Each one has a tehsildar as the administrative officer who works in accordance with the land-record system to serve rural farmers and land-holders. A tehsil contains a number of "Patwar-Mandals", each of which has a 'Patwari' to serve the landholders and farmers at the village level.

    Sub-divisions: 12

    Tehsils: 13

    Sub-tehsils: 9

    Patwar Mandals: 465

    Revenue villages: 1631


B. On the basis of Development units.

1. Rural   

            Nagaur district is divided into 14 blocks (Panchayat Samitis) which are the developmental units. Each block has a BDO (Block Development Officer) to serve as the representatives of the district administration in the rural areas. Various development works and projects at the rural level (Gram Panchayat Level) are run through Block offices. One Gram Sevak is appointed at each Gram Panchayat to keep a record of the development works and to project required development works. "Gram Sabha" (Village Meetings) are organized on fixed intervals to discuss the development of villages. There are 467 Gram Panchayats in the district.

        Blocks (Panchayat Samities): 14

        Gram Panchayats: 467

        Villages: 1610

 2. Urban

            There are 11 urban areas in Nagaur. Among these urban areas, Nagar Parishad is headed by Commissioner whereas Nagar Palika is headed by EO (Executive Officer).

        Nagar Parishad: 2 (Nagaur and Makrana)

        Nagarpalika: 9


1.     Nagaur 1.    Nagaur (Nagar Parisad) 1.   Nagaur 1.   Nagaur  
2.     Mundwa 2.    Mundwa
  2.   Mundwa  
3.    Kuchera
3.     Khinvsar   2.   Khinvsar 3.   Khinvsar  
4.     Merta 4.    Merta 3.   Merta 4.   Merta  
5.     Riyan Badi   4.   Riyan Badi 5.   Riyan Badi 1.  Bherunda  
6.     Degana 5.    Degana 5.   Degana 6.   Degana 2.  Sanju
7.     Parbatsar 6.    Parbatsar 6.   Parbatsar 7.   Parbatsar 3.  Pilwa
4.  Bhakri
8.     Kuchaman City 7.    Kuchaman City 7.   Kuchaman City 8.   Kuchaman City  
9.     Nawa 8.    Nawa 8.   Nawa 9.   Nawa  
10.   Makarana 9.    Makarana (Nagar Parisad) 9.   Makarana 10. Makarana 5.  Gachchipura
11.   Deedwana 10.  Deedwana 10. Deedwana 11. Deedwana 6.  Choti Khatu
12.   Maolasar       7.  Maolasar
13.   Ladnun 11.  Ladnun 11. Ladnun 12. Ladnun 8.  Nimbi Jodha
14.   Jayal   12. Jayal 13. Jayal 9.  Deh